Sign up for our Champaca Book Subscription!
Cart 0
Rashomon & Seventeen Others Stories

Rashomon & Seventeen Others Stories

  • Author: Ryunosuke Akutagawa, Haruki Murakami, Jay Rubin
  • Publisher: Penguin
  • ISBN: 9780140449709
Regular price Rs. 499.00 Rs. 0.00 Unit price per
Tax included.
Ryünosuke Akutagawa (1892-1927) is one of Japan’s foremost stylists - a modernist master whose short stories are marked by highly original imagery, cynicism, beauty and wild humour. ‘Rashömon’ and ‘In a Bamboo Grove’ inspired Kurosawa’s magnificent film and depict a past in which morality is turned upside down, while tales such as ‘The Nose’, ‘O-Gin’ and ‘Loyalty’ paint a rich and imaginative picture of a medieval Japan peopled by Shoguns and priests, vagrants and peasants. And in later works such as ‘Death Register’, ‘The Life of a Stupid Man’ and ‘Spinning Gears’, Akutagawa drew from his own life to devastating effect, revealing his intense melancholy and terror of madness in exquisitely moving impressionistic stories.

Tagged with:

classics / east and southeast asia / fiction / Haruki Murakami / international / japanese / Jay Rubin / Ryunosuke Akutagawa / translation /